Style

Well, She Was An American Girl…

Today is Election Day, and I sincerely hope you all went out and voted. I can promise you that I will be listening to Tom Petty’s American Girl on repeat all day.

In honor of Election Day, I bring you my favorite American Flag- inspired fashion.

Those who know me know that I covet Barbour. I don’t know what it is. I guess it’s because when I wear it, I fancy myself as a horseback riding English heiress in another life. But then Barbour came out with the Steve McQueen collection and now I fancy myself as a motorcycle riding badass in this life.

(note for students: Barbour gives a 15 percent discount off jackets for college students. In the market for your first Barbour jacket? The Beaufront and the Beadnell are the classics.)

I love a good scarf. It’s a great way to transform an uninspired outfit into something fabulous. This American Flag scarf by Free People comes in two different colors and would add some patriotism to your accessories.

Seemingly every young celebrity nowadays is photographed wearing Wildfox. It’s the Juicy Couture of 2012. Wildfox uses stars and stripes in a lot of their items, including this cardigan. The coral color with the American Flag pocket is just the kind of cool quirkiness I’d expect from the brand.

I think it’s about time that I incorporate an American Flag sweater into my wardrobe. I love the simplicity and proportions of this one from Brandy Melville.

Ever since these Current Elliott jeans were pictured on Rachel Bilson and Khloe Kardashian, they’ve been sold out from pretty much everywhere. I think I may try to recreate these with an old pair of skinny jeans, a star shaped sponge, and some bleach.

Looking to attract yourself a Senator boyfriend while at the gym? Okay, you’re right, this might not be the best way, but you’re sure to make a patriotic statement as you step on the elliptical  Sure, these are absolutely ridiculous, but why not have some fun with your workout wardrobe?

I pledge allegiance… to great fashion.

-C

Leave a Reply

